Little Creek Maple Farm

Our adventures around the homestead.

Stratton Bed – Part 5

Well, there was a lot of painting this weekend, but I am almost nearly finished the Stratton Bed project I started in the middle of November.  This project has really sucked up the paint.

IMG_3386

As I finished up the 4th coat of paint in the boxes and the third coat on the tops I have definitely learned a couple things.  First, I hate to paint, because I strive for perfection.

Second, two coats of primer is a must to prevent and grain or knots from showing through the top coat of paint.   I tired to limit knots in the trim to less conspicuous places, but even with this shade of red, I can still pick them up.

Third, I need to mask off where the tops and the carcasses meet and then do a final coat of paint once the boxes are assembled.  The little bit of over roll that I got on some of the parts seems to have tweaked the perfect fit of my face trim where the two pieces of trim come together.  I started out looking to shave some of this overspray with a chisel and utility knife only to find out that despite all the paint removal I tried, the fit was still not as awesome as I would have liked.

Fourth, this project would have been finished faster with drawers, or at least that’s what I am going to tell myself.

With any luck I will put the last coat of paint on the trim of the now assembled boxes this week.  Once dried the wife and I will lug them upstairs, and I will assemble the three boxes into the bed, throw the mattress on it and call this project complete.  Then on to the backlog of other woodworking projects…

December 3, 2012 - Posted by | Woodworking | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] building this project I remembered how hard it was painting the inside of the Stratton Bed I built so I designed these shelves with a back panel that is removable.  This allowed me to […]

    Pingback by Headboard 4.0 – Sanding & Priming « Little Creek Maple Farm | July 28, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

A simple place to share about paths chosen...

Just Two Farm Kids

A blog about two farm kids trying to blend their modern life with a slice of country life from their past.

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

TJSGold Buzz

Living the Sweet Life in Southwest Minnesota

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Day by Day the Farm Girl Way...

Simple life on a little piece of land.

Gwirrel's Garden

: Doesn't like reality :

Blissful Homestead

finding joy in an ordinary life

The Patient Gardener's Weblog

For the love of gardening is a seed that once sown never dies, but always grows and grows to an enduring and ever-increasing source of happiness - Gertrude Jekyll

Aggravated Wood Butchery

An amateur woodworker in Sussex

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 283 other followers

