Little Creek Maple Farm

Our adventures around the homestead.

My First Seed Catalog of 2012

IMG_1099

Despite the cold weather and dark mornings and evenings there is a ray of hope.  My first ever seed catalog arrived and I placed an order for some new seeds.

I ordered from Seed Savers last year and was very satisfied with the lettuce blend and herbs that I ordered online.  This year I received the in-print catalog, and I must say this is one time where the printed catalog was more help to me selecting seeds then the online website.

I found that being able to see all of the different varieties of a plant with a short description and growing season saved a lot of back and forth that I needed to do with the website.

On tap for 2012 are Dragon Carrots, Red Romaine Lettuce, Oh So Sweet Watermelon, Bull Nose Bell Peppers, and some Hot Portugal Peppers.  I also got some last minute Christmas presents for my parents in the same order which helped me justify the expedited shipping!

I am curious to see how the watermelon and the Hot Peppers do in my yard.  We are in a shady forested area but I have managed to grow tomatoes so I am hopeful there will be enough sun for the watermelon to produce.

December 20, 2011 - Posted by | Gardening, Miscellaneous | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I haven’t ordered any seed yet. I usually wait until January. So far, I’ve received my Seed Savers Exchange catalog and the catalog from Southern Exposure Seed Exchange. SESE is where I get the majority of my seeds. They are kind of local, and their online catalog has an icon that indicates if a seed grows well in the Mid Atlantic

    Comment by Fritz | December 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Living on Life

Just another WordPress.com site

2 Boys 1 Homestead

Our adventure to self-sufficiency!

Small House Big Sky Homestead

Senior Homesteaders w/Spirit

Lunabludesign

Digital papers, clipart, backgrounds, printables and more!

Little Bean Farms

Connecting Children to nature

Fairy Grass Farm

Our adventures on 105 acres...

www.littlecreekmaplefarm.com/

Our adventures around the homestead.

The Mountain School

for students by students

Minnesota Maple Syrup

Minnesota Maple Syrup Blog

MadeWithNicole

DIY Projects and Handmade Crafts

