Little Creek Maple Farm

Our adventures around the homestead.

Fall Plantings

Well I was able to find time to plant my garlic & shallots that I got this year from the Maine Potato Lady.  It felt like an unseasonably warm October so I waited until close to the end of the month to plant my bulbs.  I had a couple hours one evening before it got too dark and planted everything October 30th, 2012.  It was a balmy 68F according to my double top secret treasure garlic map I scrawled on a piece of graph paper.

2012-2013 Garlic Map

I planted three beds this year with a mixture of items in varying densities.  I had two varieties of hard-neck garlic: Russian Red and German Red.  I noted that the cloves I got with the Russian Red Garlic seemed to be a lot more durable and were easier to peel with out damaging the papery skin of the clove.

IMG_3141     IMG_3149

I got 49 large cloves from the Russian and about 25 large cloves from the German.  At the end of the day I had about the same number of cloves from both varieties but the Russian Red cloves seemed to have way more large cloves.

All the cloves from these hard-neck varieties were way bigger than the soft-neck I planted last year.  I decided to try the soft-neck garlic again even though I had limited success last season with this variety.  I was able to pick up a package of soft-neck garlic from a local garden center which only seemed to carry soft-neck garlic.  This seems odd for the New Hampshire climate, but I still figured I would give it a go.  The cloves from the hard-neck garlic were about double the size of the soft-neck garlic.

In addition to the garlic, I am trying to grow shallots for the first time.  I have had very limited success if I can call it that with onion sets planted in the spring so I figured shallots in the fall – why not…

The French Gray Shallots from the Maine Potato Lady were great for filling in some empty spots around some of my beds.

Due to some warm weather I did not cover the beds with some shredded leaf mulch until last weekend.  This year I tried to really shred the leaves more with the lawn mower prior to raking/bagging the leaves up.  I am also trying not to go as deep as I did last year.  The depth of the mulch this year is in the 2-3” range as opposed to the 4-6” range.  With three beds of garlic this time I am hoping to do a phased removal of the leaf mulch to see how that impacts garlic growth.  Last year I may have left the mulch on a little to long and I think I smothered quite a few plants in the process.  So time will tell.

IMG_3217

November 16, 2012 - Posted by | Gardening | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. […] a difference a few warm days have made this week for my fall plantings last […]

    Pingback by Onions and Garlic « Little Creek Maple Farm | April 18, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] The hard neck garlic above from the Maine Potato Lady has taken off and below in the bottom right of the photo the smaller shoots are for the French Gray Shallots that we planted in the fall. […]

    Pingback by Garden Update « Little Creek Maple Farm | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  3. […] consistently inspecting the cold hardy garlic I purchased last fall from the Maine Potato Lady, and planted last October I finally saw what I have been waiting for.  GARLIC […]

    Pingback by Garlic From Planting to Garlic Scapes « Little Creek Maple Farm | June 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Living on Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Small House Big Sky Homestead

Senior Homesteaders w/Spirit

Lunabludesign

Digital papers, clipart, backgrounds, printables and more!

Little Bean Farms

Connecting Children to nature

Fairy Grass Farm

Our adventures on 105 acres...

www.littlecreekmaplefarm.com/

Our adventures around the homestead.

The Mountain School

for students by students

Minnesota Maple Syrup

Minnesota Maple Syrup Blog

MadeWithNicole

DIY Projects and Handmade Crafts

