Little Creek Maple Farm

Our adventures around the homestead.

Stratton Bed – Part 5

Well, there was a lot of painting this weekend, but I am almost nearly finished the Stratton Bed project I started in the middle of November.  This project has really sucked up the paint.

IMG_3386

As I finished up the 4th coat of paint in the boxes and the third coat on the tops I have definitely learned a couple things.  First, I hate to paint, because I strive for perfection.

Second, two coats of primer is a must to prevent and grain or knots from showing through the top coat of paint.   I tired to limit knots in the trim to less conspicuous places, but even with this shade of red, I can still pick them up.

Third, I need to mask off where the tops and the carcasses meet and then do a final coat of paint once the boxes are assembled.  The little bit of over roll that I got on some of the parts seems to have tweaked the perfect fit of my face trim where the two pieces of trim come together.  I started out looking to shave some of this overspray with a chisel and utility knife only to find out that despite all the paint removal I tried, the fit was still not as awesome as I would have liked.

Fourth, this project would have been finished faster with drawers, or at least that’s what I am going to tell myself.

With any luck I will put the last coat of paint on the trim of the now assembled boxes this week.  Once dried the wife and I will lug them upstairs, and I will assemble the three boxes into the bed, throw the mattress on it and call this project complete.  Then on to the backlog of other woodworking projects…

December 3, 2012 - Posted by | Woodworking | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] building this project I remembered how hard it was painting the inside of the Stratton Bed I built so I designed these shelves with a back panel that is removable.  This allowed me to […]

    Pingback by Headboard 4.0 – Sanding & Priming « Little Creek Maple Farm | July 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] building this project I remembered how hard it was painting the inside of the Stratton Bed I built so I designed these shelves with a back panel that is removable.  This allowed me to […]

    Pingback by Headboard 4.0 – Sanding & Priming | | March 21, 2015 | Reply


Leave a comment

Living on Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Small House Big Sky Homestead

Senior Homesteaders w/Spirit

Lunabludesign

Digital papers, clipart, backgrounds, printables and more!

Little Bean Farms

Connecting Children to nature

Fairy Grass Farm

Our adventures on 105 acres...

Little Creek Maple Farm

Our adventures around the homestead.

The Mountain School

for students by students

Made With Nicole

Handmade Jewellery & Gifts

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!