Little Creek Maple Farm

Our adventures around the homestead.

Garage Work Shop Storage – Drawers

Base Cabinets with Drawers

I went with a slightly different drawer box assembly technique on this set of drawers.  Not sure of the exact name of this joint it’s a combination of a dado in the side of the drawers and a rabbet in the front.  This joint will provide more glue surface area and should hopefully be stronger than a rabbet joint alone with glue and nails that I used on the Miter Saw Stand.  I was using up some scrap 1/2” plywood for these boxes so I had some variations that made perfect set-up of the dado and rabbet a little challenging so I opted to get close knowing that I may need to knock down the sides that protrude beyond the fronts with a sander and some 60-grit paper.  The drawers have the same 1/4” dado in the bottom to accept some 1/4” hardboard for the drawer bottoms.

Lock RabbetAssembled Drawers

The technique for installing drawer slides is straight forward.  The slides were installed in the cabinets in my earlier post using a piece of 1/2” plywood as a spacer.  Now that I am ready to install the drawers, I switched over to a 1/4” thick piece of hardboard.  This will space the drawer perfectly when I go to attach the drawer to the slides.  A quick pencil mark to account for the added thickness of the solid wood edging and I was ready to attach the slides to the drawer slides.

Drawer 1/4" thick spacersAttaching Drawer Slides to Drawers

Repeat the process four times and the drawers are installed.  If I can sneak it in, I will try and finish the drawer fronts and cabinets doors, but I may be switching gears for sugaring, soon.

Finished Drawers

February 18, 2014 - Posted by | Woodworking | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I used the same kind of joint for some drawers in our master bath. Made them about 20 years ago and the joints are still tight. Looking good!

    Comment by Jeff Branch | February 18, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks, this joint did seem a lot sturdier than I would have thought, lets hops i get the same longevity out of it that you did.

      Comment by billcarpenter4 | February 22, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Living on Life

Just another WordPress.com site

2 Boys 1 Homestead

Our adventure to self-sufficiency!

Small House Big Sky Homestead

Senior Homesteaders w/Spirit

Lunabludesign

Digital papers, clipart, backgrounds, printables and more!

Little Bean Farms

Connecting Children to nature

Fairy Grass Farm

Our adventures on 105 acres...

www.littlecreekmaplefarm.com/

Our adventures around the homestead.

The Mountain School

for students by students

Minnesota Maple Syrup

Minnesota Maple Syrup Blog

MadeWithNicole

DIY Projects and Handmade Crafts

